The European Union (EU) says that up to four million Ukrainians may leave the country due to the Russian invasion. Thousands of refugees have moved to neighboring countries in the west, such as Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary, and Moldova. Poland has, so far, taken in 377,000 refugees, and the government claims that 50,000 more people enter the nation every day. According to the United Nations (UN), these countries had taken in the following number of Ukrainian refugees as of March 1 at 13:00 GMT:

Hungary – 89,561
Moldova – 65,391
Slovakia – 54,304
Romania – 38,461
Belarus – 329

Refugees do not need documents to enter the neighboring countries but are advised to bring their internal or international travel passports, birth certificates for children coming with them, and medical records. They must be Ukrainian citizens or lawful residents of Ukraine to have refugee status.